50 YEARS STRONG NCACVA

NCACVA ANNUAL CONFERENCE March 18-20, 2024



EMBASSY SUITES BY HILTON Wilmington 9 Estell Lee Place Wilmington, NC 28401



Conference Agenda

Sunday March 17	4:00-6:00	NCACVA Board meeting
Monday March 18	9:00-11:45	Conference Registration
Monday March 18	12:00-1:00	Opening Luncheon
		Presentation of colors Marine Corps Color Guard-Camp Lejeune National Anthem Randy Plunkett-Project Kitty Hawk Welcome President Richard Bartell Housekeeping Rachel Cavenaugh, Conference Chair
Monday March 180	1:00-2:00	Patriot Foundation Amber H Johnson-Carter Scholarship Administrator & COL. Barry Huggins USA Ret. Director NC State Funding
Monday March 18	2:00-2:15	Bathroom break
Monday March 18	2:15-2:45	NCDMVA Scholarship Angela Heilig, Scholarship Adm.
Monday March 18	2:45 – 3:15	Refreshment break
Monday March 18	3:15-3:45	Dr. Brandyy Wade Central Piedmont CC Risk Assessment & TA
Monday March 18	4:00-5:00	Birds of a Feather-Sector Caucus
Tuesday March 19	8:00 – 9:00	Conference Registration
Tuesday March 19	9:00 -9:30	Brenda Burgess NC Community College System Office

Tuesday March 19	9:30-11:00	Brad Wrenn Green UNC System Office Green Zone Training
Tuesday March 19	11:00-11:15	Bathroom break
Tuesday March 19	11:15 -12:00	Panel discussion-Seasoned SCO
Tuesday March 19	12:00-1:00	Luncheon
Tuesday March 19	1:00-2:00	Timothy Freeman Executive Director NC State Approving Agency
Tuesday March 19	2:00-3:00	Gene Ritter Residency Program Manager, NCSEAA
Tuesday March 19	3:00-3:30	Ciara Cook, M NFG (USA) NC TAP
Tuesday March 19	3:30-4:00	State Meeting
Tuesday March 19	6:00-10:30	Banquet/Dance with DJ Jason Jackson, Cards and corn hole
Wednesday March 20	9:00-10:00	Debt Management-Damien Rossi Supervisor Financial Program Specialist
Wednesday March 20	10:00-10:15	Break
Wednesday March 20	10:30-11:30	Alex Rath & Brandye Onizuk Veteran Readiness & Employment Counselors
Wednesday March 20	11:30-12:00	Wrap up

Embassy Suite guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM

Embassy Suite guests can enjoy complimentary drinks each afternoon at the Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM

Charity Sergeant Eugene Ashley Center Wish List

- Pillows
- Pillowcases
- Blankets
- New socks
- New underwear
- Winter hats
- Gloves
- Men's clothing and shoes
- Services
- Basic Computer Skills
- Legal services
- Stamps
- Lamps
- Light bulbs
- Blankets and twin sized sheet sets
- Small trash cans
- Hand soap
- Bleach
- Laundry detergent
- Febreeze/air freshener
- Cleaning products
- Scour pads
- Furniture polish
- Toilet Brushes
- Bath Towels/wash cloths
- Dish cloths/towels

- Dish soap
- Hand held cleaning brushes
- Toilet paper/ paper towels
- Coffee, Sugar, Creamer
- Spices
- Vitamins
- Alarm Clocks
- Brooms/dustpans
- Canned goods
- Pasta sauce
- Aluminum Foil
- Tupperware
- Laundry Baskets
- Gift cards (food lion and Walmart)
- Paper plates/cups
- Shower shoes
- Toiletries
- Nail clipping sets
- Deodorant
- Mouthwash
- Hairbrushes
- Small first aid kits
- Scissors
- Chapstick
- Lotion

President Richard Bartell (Central Piedmont CC)

Past President Feleta Morton (Winston-Salem State University)

President-Elect Tiffany Ingram (Randolph CC)

Treasurer eyan University)

Secretary 2023-24 Executive Board

Mentoring Chair Rachel Cavenaugh (Cape Fear CC)
Historian Beverly Billings (Davidson-Davie CC)

Web Liaison Tracy Rapp (Haywood CC)

Membership Chair Joseph McDougal, Jr (Surry CC)

Conference Co- Rachel Cavenaugh (Cape Fear CC)

Chairs Tracy Rapp (Haywood CC)

Rachel Cavenaugh Cape Fear CC Tracy Rapp Haywood CC

Richard Bartell Central Piedmont CC

Tiffany Ingram Laura Brown

2023-24 Conference Committee

Feleta Morton

Beverly Billings Davidson-Davie CC Amy Cook UNC-Greensboro

Joseph McDougal,Jr Surry CC
Jason Bocchino Cape Fear CC
Randy Plunkett Project Kitty Hawk

PAST PRESIDENTS of NCACVA

2022-2023 Feleta C. Morton

2021-2022 Brian Lewis-Hardy

2020-2021 Feleta C. Morton

2019-2020 Dori Barron

2018-2019 Bradley Wrenn

2017 - 2018 Tracy Rapp

2016 - 2017 Dori Barron

2016 - 2017 Dori Barron

2015 - 2016 Joy D. Cox

2014 - 2015 Joy D. Cox

2013 - 2014 Sandee Patton

2012 - 2013 Kevin Lineberry

2011 - 2012 Rachel Cavenaugh

2010 - 2011 Alisa Roy

2009 - 2010 Alisa Roy

2008 - 2009 Heather Willett

2007 - 2008 Joy Cox

2006 - 2007 Joy Cox

2006 - 2007 Sue Greiner

2005 - 2006 Linda Seefeld

2004 - 2005 Heidi Kidwell

2003 - 2004 Heather Willett

2002 - 2003 Frank Orians

2001 - 2002 George McFarley

2000 – 2001 Karen Krider

1999 - 2000 Doug Allen

1998 - 1999 Sam Cope

1997 - 1998 Sam Cope

1996 - 1997 Janet Sain

1995 - 1996 Nancy Respess

1994 - 1995 Ricky Hodges

1993 - 1994 Teresa Johnson

1992 - 1993 Frank Pomponi

1991 - 1992 Peggy Stroud

1990 - 1991 Paul Hensley

1989 - 1990 Slay Jackson

1988 - 1989 Rudy Lloyd

1987 - 1988 Niles Compton, Jr.

1986 - 1987 Roberta Havner

1985 - 1986 Jerry Rose

1984 - 1985 Coot Gilreath

1983 - 1984 Clint Perkins

1982 - 1983 Sam Cope

1981 - 1982 Yvonne Castillo

1980 - 1981 Paul Hensley

1979 - 1980 Niles Compton, Jr.

1978 - 1979 Ron Miriello

1977 - 1978 Mac Davis

1976 - 1977 John Tripp

1975 - 1976 Joseph W. Sharpe

1974 - 1975 Craig H. Falor

1973 - 1974 Craig H. Falor